14 Dec 2020

Congratulations to the 2020 winner of the Acorn Foundation Adult Learner Scholarship

Congratulations to the 2020 winner of the Acorn Foundation Adult Learner Scholarship

The Acorn team is thrilled to announce that Kylie Oliver is the 2020 recipient of the Acorn Foundation Adult Learner Scholarship. Kylie is currently half way through her four year Bachelor of Social Work degree at the University of Waikato.

She is a single mother of three young adults aged 23, 18, and 15 and, when not at university or working on assignments, works part time to make ends meet. Kylie says she is privileged to have amazing friends,  family, and also the faculty at the university who support her through every step of her journey. 

"Winning this scholorship came as a complete suprise, yet I am so grateful and feel privileged to be honored with this award. Being over 40, my eligibility to student allowance is less than if I was younger, this award will help me get through the remainder of my degree to allow me to become a qualified social worker without the added stress of having such a huge debt. 

Upon graduating my goal is to work with youths, and with women and children exposed to family violence. 

Having experienced a difficult relationship and subsequent marriage breakup, I would like to help those experiencing similar situations. If I can help one family make positive changes to live a safer, happier and healthier life - then my four years at university will all be worth it.

With the support of the Acorn foundation, and this scholarship, in 2 years time I will be able to start making this goal a reality.

My goal to succeed by graduating is driven by my desire to make both my parents proud, especially my beautiful dad, who recently passed away suddenly. He has always been our family's rock, our biggest supporter, and I know he's still cheering me on to succeed. This and the thought of graduating with my mum beside me is enough for me to make university studies my priority."

Kylie is a credit to her family and to the University of Waikato, Tauranga campus, and we are so proud that she is this year’s winner!

Back to Latest News