20 Nov 2023

2024 Western Bay Community Award Finalists Announced

2024 Western Bay Community Award Finalists Announced

The annual Western Bay Community Awards which recognises the dedicated contribution of voluntary and not-for-profit groups and individuals, have announced the finalists for the 2024 awards, scheduled for March next year.

The Western Bay Community Awards are delivered in partnership between Tauranga and Western Bay’s local funders: Acorn Foundation, BayTrust, Tauranga City Council, TECT Community Trust and Western Bay of Plenty District Council.

Thirty finalists have been announced for the 2024 Western Bay Community Awards, including local youth striving to make a difference, long-serving volunteers, champions of diversity and inclusion and some of the outstanding events held throughout the region in the last 12 months.

Acorn Foundation Chief Executive Lori Luke says, "the awards night is a wonderful evening to honour the outstanding efforts of those in our sector, whilst the online showcase allows our community to learn more about the amazing work that organisations scattered throughout the region do every day to make our region better."

The community will be able to learn more about each finalist when the online showcase of all finalists goes live in the new year, consisting of a video introducing all finalists from all award categories. During this time, the community will also have the opportunity to cast their vote for the People’s Choice Award from the full list of finalists.

The finalists for the 2024 Western Bay Community Awards are:

Event Excellence Award

  • Anzac Bay Waipaopao Summer Kick-Off Festival
  • Flavours of Plenty
  • Tauranga Fish & Dive Club – Placemakers Kids Fishing Competition
  • Papamoa ‘Light Up the Waterway’ Matariki – Te Ara ō Wairakei Stormwater Trail
  • 2023 Zespri AIMS Games

Sustainable Future Award

  • ARRC Wildlife Trust
  • Live Well Waihi Beach
  • Ngapeke Permaculture Project
  • Otanewainuku Kiwi Trust
  • Taking Back our Beach

Diversity and Inclusion Award

  • Bay of Plenty Sports and Cultural Club
  • Kai Aroha
  • Multicultural Tauranga
  • STEAM-ED Charitable Trust
  • Wish4Fish

Heart of the Community Award

  • Katch Katikati
  • Kura Kai
  • Mums4Mums
  • Tauranga Volunteer Coastguard
  • The Incubator Creative Hub

Youth Spirit Award

  • Blessing Pasi
  • Kate Dekker
  • Isla Willacy
  • Liam Shanahan
  • Mason Bollee

Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Aidan Kuka
  • Bryan Winters
  • Mary Dillon
  • Melanie Gearon
  • Sam Fellows

Category winners will be announced at the Western Bay Community Awards on Thursday 21 March 2024.

All nominees, nominators, and finalists will be invited to the awards early in the new year. To learn more, visit https://www.tect.org.nz/community-awards-2023/

Back to Latest News