08 Dec 2020

Bob & Joy Owens Scholarship Winners for 2020

Bob & Joy Owens Scholarship Winners for 2020

The Acorn Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of the Bob & Joy Owens Scholarships for 2020. These awards each provide $5,000 annual scholarships for three years to the worthy students selected from seven local colleges. 

2020 marks the first year that Acorn has administered these awards, which have been providing tertiary support for students through the Owens Charitable Trust since 1993. These prestigious awards have always had winners who have shown a significant commitment to their schools and to the community, with a strong idea of what they want to accomplish in the future. Independent Owens Scholarship Selection Committees work closely with the administrators at each school to choose finalists who are then interviewed by the panellists. Each scholarship has been awarded at the respective school’s Senior Prizegiving event.

General Manager Lori Luke says, “We are honoured to manage these substantial scholarships for the Owens Charitable Trust. On behalf of our donors, Acorn has given out over $400,000 in scholarships and awards in the past year, and we know how impactful it is for the recipients to be recognised for their successes.”

Bob & Joy Owens Scholarship winners:

  • Aquinas College—Hannah McGregor
  • Bethlehem College—James Zingel
  • Mt. Maunganui College—Shania Callender
  • Otumoetai College—Baylee Dyer
  • Tauranga Boys’ College—Logan Green
  • Tauranga Girls’ College—Mia Krueger-Reedy
  • Te Puke High School—Patricia Pislor

Congratulations to each of these outstanding students as they embark on their tertiary studies next year!


Back to Latest News