09 Jul 2019

Scholarships: Dale Carnegie Scholarship Winners Celebrated

Scholarships: Dale Carnegie Scholarship Winners Celebrated

On Thursday 4 July, 22 local students received their graduation certificates for completing the 2019 Acorn Foundation Dale Carnegie Youth Programme. Acorn’s generous local donor, Mary McGowan and her late husband Roy, have been funding these scholarships since 2010, with more than 230 Year 13 students benefitting from this three-day course.

22 students received scholarships for the programme this year from 11 Western Bay of Plenty schools. The course teaches the Dale Carnegie five drivers of success: building greater self-confidence, strengthening people skills, enhancing communication skills, developing leadership skills, and reducing stress and worry.  Acorn is proud to partner with Dale Carnegie BOP Waikato and Priority One’s InStep programme to offer this youth-focused course which provides techniques for improving both self-confidence and communication that are useful throughout life.

Congratulations to the following scholarship winners:

  • ACG Tauranga: Helen Frogley and Piper Rudkin
  • Aquinas: Finn Dempsey and Pip O’Leary
  • Bethlehem: Sasha Van Beek, Kate Armstrong, and Mackenzie Perry
  • Katikati College: Mac Willacy and Sasha Colbourne
  • Mt Maunganui College: Jonathan Tomlinson and Mikayla Larsen
  • Otumoetai College: Kate Millar and Luke Rush
  • Papamoa College: Emma Hugglestone and George Kingston
  • Tauranga Boys’ College: Campbell Browne and Tamatea Bennett
  • Tauranga Girls’ College: Dannika Worthington, Lucy Paterson and Toni Manyimo
  • Te Puke High School: Daniel Bartley and Adriana Phillips

Back to Latest News