27 Jun 2022

Local Students win 2022 scholarships to Outward Bound

Local Students win 2022 scholarships to Outward Bound

The Acorn Foundation hosted the 2022 Outward Bound Scholarship celebration held on Wednesday, 22 June at The Kollective in Tauranga. At the event, two student speakers, Jai Crowe of Tauranga Boys’ College and Tori Haggie of Papamoa College, shared their experiences on behalf of the student cohort.

These scholarships are awarded annually to Year 12 students from local Western Bay of Plenty schools, plus Whakatane High School, to attend the Tangaroa Watch programme at Anakiwa in the South Island. This is the sixth year that committed Acorn donors and other local supporters have provided these valuable scholarships to this 3-week programme that uses outdoor adventures and physical activities to build resilience, perseverance and communication skills which deliver life-long benefits.

Students are nominated by their schools and selected by Outward Bound staff members based on their commitment to their school and the community, with demonstrated financial need and an opportunity to improve their self-confidence.

Congratulations to the following scholarship winners:

Tauranga Boys’ College: Leonardo Wilson-Taylor, Jake Corney and Jai Crowe
Tauranga Girls’ College: Rosa Atkins and Danica Fisher
Otumoetai College: Zachaia Tarawa, Eli Kapi and Dakota Filer
Papamoa College: Aiswarya Bhandari and Tori Haggie
Katikati College: Ashton Coxhead and Eva Sunderland
Whakatane High School: Callum Giles and Kiera Dooley

Find more about the Outward Bound Scholarship here

Back to Latest News