14 Dec 2021

Seven local students win prestigious Owens Scholarships

Seven local students win prestigious Owens Scholarships

The prestigious Bob & Joy Owens Scholarships have been awarded for 2021 to seven students from colleges and high schools across the Western Bay of Plenty. Each recipient will be awarded $5,000 per year for three years.

This year marks the 28th year that Owens Scholarships have been supporting young people in our region, recognising remarkable students who have demonstrated a commitment to their school and community, and who have a strong desire to contribute to society in future.

The Acorn Foundation administers the awards while independent Owens Selection Committees work with each school’s administrators to choose and interview finalists, and make the final selection.

The 2021 Bob & Joy Owens Scholarship winners include:

  • Aquinas College: Charlotte Watson, (pictured above) who intends to pursue a career in paediatric medicine at the University of Otago
  • Bethlehem College: Tonga Faletau, who will attend University of Canterbury to study Civil Engineering
  • Mt. Maunganui College: Brooke McGregor, who is planning on studying Biomedical Science
  • Otumoetai College: Amy McAulay, who is going to study Software Engineering at Canterbury University
  • Tauranga Boys’ College: Corban Laban-Palmer plans to study Design Innovation, Business Studies and Samoan Studies
  • Tauranga Girls’ College: Lia Chalmers intends to study the role of genetics in health issues
  • Te Puke High School: Giovanni Rai is going to Victoria University to study Political Communications.

The Acorn team congratulates each of these outstanding students and wishes them every success as they complete their secondary studies and prepare for university.


Read more about Acorn donors Bob & Joy Owens here.


Back to Latest News