27 May 2024

Te Puke advocates who want to see the town thrive

Te Puke advocates who want to see the town thrive

We are sure that the names Michael and Ann Jones will be familiar to the people of Te Puke, as you may have seen and heard Michael as the town’s crier over the last 30 years. They have been an integral part of the Te Puke community and would like to continue supporting Te Puke for as long as possible. With the help of Acorn, they can do so, forever.

Michael and Ann were born in Te Puke and met at the Te Puke Repertory Society. Michael is a second-generation kiwifruit grower and was a director of the leading co-operative Baypak, now Eastpack, for 13 years. In 1998, Michael became a District Councillor and advocated for projects to enhance the town over many years.

Ann grew up with humble beginnings and values hard work. She was heavily involved in local cubs and scouts and served as the former president of the local theatre and the Kiwicoast Lions Club.

Michael won the Lorna Treloar Memorial Te Puke Citizen of the Year award in 2021. When he won the award, Michael expressed his love for the town, “Te Puke is a great town with a proud history and a brilliant future. I have just been playing a small part in trying to make Te Puke a better place. I always have.”

Michael and Ann’s Acorn fund will support initiatives that enhance and benefit the Te Puke community, particularly those that generate a sense of pride.

The couple would like to encourage others to consider setting up a fund with Acorn to benefit Te Puke. “We believe Acorn is a well-managed organisation. It would be great to see other people join and nominate for things for our town.”

Back to Latest News